Life On The Other Side

The placement season has begun and so has the loads of ppts . It was in one such workshop organized by Delloite that I realized something . The speaker was a XLRI gold medalist and he did make the boring topic of emotional intelligence quite interesting . I don’t know how much the workshop was useful but there was something which made me write this post .There was some 3 questions which we had to answer at one go writing out the first thought that comes to your mind .

When do you feel the most happy ?
My ans : While playing footer .

When do you feel embarrassed ?
My ans : Whenever I visit my village .

Now wait a moment how did this thought come to me ? Then I thought ya it should have come . I belong to a remote village in Bihar . I left it to pursue my studies when I was very young. But I still have friends there who were not luckier like me . It was not luck but poverty that kept them there . To say the village boasts of a primary school but sometimes there are no teachers or when there are teachers there are no books. The contradiction is strange , Children in town at a particular age start exploring malls , mobiles , amusement parks and childhood ends for some in villages.Either they help parents in the fields or work in quarrys in near by towns , or a small line hotel . Then what happens is hard to think of . Their life becomes stagnant , monotonous and the most shocking thing is they never have no other option. It is really sick when i meet some of my village friends and find that they are waiters in some hotel. Then the realization, the embarrassment comes in . All the education seems worthless at a juncture . How can the system be so cruel that lives of millions of people remains pathetic all through their lives . Some serious thoughts then creep in . Is it worth the effort , are we contributing anything to the society .May be its getting late . It is not something that i can do alone but ya I will certainly make a start.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Moli says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  2. Moli says:

    Seriously dost … a question we need to answer to ourselves.You have initiated the thinking in me already …Thank you so much

  3. yea i agree…i am a city bred person…but have a colleague who is a C.A. who tells me stuff abt how their class romms were under a tree and how they used gunny bags as seats and had fights over them…u are right…the system is very cruel.Nice blog!

  4. Shivi says:

    hey! even we witnessed such things very closely, although not as much as u did, but still…and you know what, I feel that ‘the gem’ out of a person shines only after one has witnessed a variety of misfortunes. So better plz do not feel embarassed of this fact…this is the reality.Change it or face it!

Leave a Reply

