Mumbai half marathon and other highs

“Eventually I sickened of people,myself included , who didn’t think enough of themselves to make something of themselves-people who did only what they had to and never what they could have done.I learned from them the infected loneliness that comes at the end of every misspent day.I knew I could do better.”

Last km with the Indian Flag

With the Indian Flag in the left hand and hundreds of people clapping, as I pushed myself through the last km of the Mumbai Half Marathon I understood the meaning of joy.I have realized that a significant aspect of happiness is in embracing the pain.The most effective practice is to remember the fact that what we really want is not a perfect moment-it’s happiness from moment to moment.That comes from choosing to embrace with what is,instead of bemoaning and fighting it.For me this run was happiness and right from the word go I enjoyed every moment of it.Not only did I ran without stopping for a second but also I danced to the Dholak beats on the way.Mumbai marathon was a carnival this year and I ended it on a high to be specific-the runner’s high.

On  winter mornings when the outside temperature hovered around 1-4 degrees it was tough to get out of the bed  but still I managed to ran for over 300 kms and in the process developed a lifelong  respect for myself.There is always a life changing moment in each of our lives and for a runner it begins with putting on the shoes for the first time.We spend our lives running away from loneliness, finding umpteen means to forget ourselves.Running has taught me to embrace this truth and appreciate the solitude.Sometimes on a busy day after all the work that one hour of of run always helped me fill the void and channel my thoughts.In the last few months I may have been almost broke but mentally I have become strong and I owe a lot to running for this.Whenever I write a book I would devote a chapter on running for sure.

At the start of the 17th km the song,”Maeeri” by euphoria started playing and i had a smile on my face thinking of an evening which was to happen that day.But not everything happened the way I wanted it to be on this trip.The guy who took the dinner order failed to deliver the food on an evening on which I needed nourishment the most.A warm embrace with my best friend called for the liquid which was strongly  dehydrating.Before the marathon began I had done everything which I was not supposed to do.With 4 hours of sleep when I reached the starting line I forgot everything what happened and what I should have done,in the end it was all about living in that moment.

“People got together because of you” was what a friend had to say about my stay in Mumbai.At a friends high-rise apartment surrounded by slums on one side I stood wondering of the life in a city which was always on a run.It was a different kind of high something which I was not proud of.

Post marathon I spent a night with my friends in a private beach. Every time  I spend a night in the open a new connection is established with mother nature.Sitting under a star clad sky I found a strange beauty in the fire especially the burnt part of the wood.A day after marathon i got the chance to play football with a full two hour professional guidance.Every night ended on a high with average 3 hours of sleep but sometimes when you are on a high nothing can stop you from enjoying yourself.

Don’t know what was I high on, was it the run,was it the insane crowd,was it insomnia, was it my friends,was it all the hydroxy group playing its part or was it me ? I don’t know will never know but surely i was high in Mumbai.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. nivedita says:

    congrats on the half marathon 🙂

    spending the night at a private beach is indeed a great way to celebrate 🙂

    looking forward to your book! whenever that is

    1. abhinav says:

      Thanks i hope you write one before mine

  2. Congratulations, again 🙂 and glad that I was part of one of your “high” nights 🙂

    1. abhinav says:

      Ya and thanks for the book too

  3. Jyoti says:

    You have been tagged.. Do visit http://jbabel.blogspot.com/2012/01/tag-and-some-things-about-me.html.. Hope u wil do the tag..Thanks.. Cheers

  4. Gaurav says:

    Great Bachhi :). Get high and keep others high with ur writing 🙂

    1. abhinav says:

      Haan bade logon ke liye likhte rahenge

Leave a Reply

