Kolkata- Books, Streets and Life

“The secret of success is concentrating interest in life, interest in sports and good times, interest in your studies, interest in your fellow students, interest in the small things of nature, insects, birds, flowers, leaves, etc. In other words to be fully awake to everything about you & the more you learn the more you can appreciate & get a full measure of joy & happiness out of life.” 

Yesterday night i met an old man with a heavy luggage looking out for a lift.I told him that i was just going a few kms further and would give him a lift if he wanted. I held his briefcase as with some difficulty,coughing and heavy breathing he managed to hop on the bike.I decided to drop him to his house. In our small talk I came to know that he was paying a surprise visit to her daughter on her B day.I was happy to be a part of someone’s happiness.The old man blessed me and wished me luck for nothing in particular.

Being a twenty someone is a difficult phase of life but it is that phase which molds you to a person you will be for your life.It takes a lot to step out from what society wants you to be to become someone you want yourself to be.I have never been in a relationship ever but don’t conclude that I am afraid of commitments,I travel 35km(one way) daily from my workplace to the stadium for evening football.I have a set of great friends, many from college,few from football  and some from workplace,a number which you can count on your fingers and i don’t need an online media to stay connected with them.I have a wardrobe with few pairs of old jeans and over 200 books.I have realized that the best way to deal with people even if they are your loved ones is to never except anything from them.That one thing which i have found very gratifying is to cultivate a lifelong habit which has no dependency on others.This is that age when we tend to forget that life is a sojourn and it one of solitude, a one on one encounter and so don’t procrastinate happiness for future, instead carry it in your day to day activity probably by following a passion.” “The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die anytime.

There is something about Kolkata that i can’t comprehend but nonetheless it allures me the most. Every time I step out of the train the  Howrah bridge turns me into a dreamer.There is something about places name one place and it will always be the Howrah Bridge for me.I have been here at all times of a day and all the possible sky colors if you please.Almost same is the case with Park Street, it has come to a situation where I have started recognizing the beggars,forget the consumerism display that this place has to offer.On paper I had come for a B-School interview and I did the best I could but most of my time was spent in book shops.Mirza Galib street in Kolkata offers a lot and i love the 2 Lonely Planet recommended book shops.What they say about wine is true for books  too, older the better.I got the opportunity of laying my hands on quite a many books and I read few pages from each of them.Finally i bought three of them and i would recommend them to you too :

  • The Outsider by Albert Camus
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • On Razor’s edge by Saumerset Maugham

David Crane and Marta Kaufmann would certainly have had great friends in their lives too.It is hard to believe that it will be 3 years since I graduated from college for often when i meet my friends it seems like yesterday.I have roamed in the streets of Kolkata sometimes alone and sometimes with friends and I find this place close to my heart, there is something about it that makes me happy and i wish to be here again and again.The picture below was clicked at Victoria Memorial by a friend.India is a hungry country and horny too, courtesy Bandra Stand in Mumbai and Victoria Memorial in Kolkata.

One life is too less to read everything but with this life we have choices and start reading if you have not started yet for when you realize it will be too late.The life at Kolkata can be summed up in the poem by W.H.Davies named leaisure.

WHAT is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare?—

No time to stand beneath the boughs,
And stare as long as sheep and cows:

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass:

No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night:

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance:

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began?

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. nivedita says:

    🙂 yes time just flies past us…. glad you make the most out of it 🙂

  2. 1endofanera says:

    @nivedita : your review of,”The Ousider ” made me buy the book.

    1. nivedita says:

      No Abhinav, I have not read the Outsider, and not reviewed it either. I only recommended that you read “three cups of tea” 🙂
      Can’t take credit for that which is not mine 🙂
      Anyway googled “the outsider”looks interesting. will try to lay my hands it although my pile of unread books is just growing 🙂

  3. 1endofanera says:

    Oh probably someone else. I will read it

  4. Man! what a post…you are one man with a vision. knock the winds out of my lungs every time i visit your blog….
    You don’t socialize online at all? Plz provide any social profile you have, i’d love to add you 🙂
    I’ve read “the Outsider”, it was eye-opening, and suddenly something which had been present in me, in a vague form, found its voice.
    And reblogging this one…

    1. 1endofanera says:

      Soon man , i had one at college but the friend list exceeded over 500 and i was perplexed by the narcissism. Lately i have been thinking of making one account. Rest email id has been provided in the blog. Thanks for reblogging , the page view just shoots up.

  5. Divenita Er says:

    Very well written 🙂 Its such a beautiful coincidence.
    I was reading Mohit’s blog and came across this one. 🙂

    1. 1endofanera says:

      Ya i am thankful to mohit for re blogging the post.

  6. Tanu says:

    I find this topic so intriguing because everyone has different opinions on life… Great read !!

  7. chandni says:

    Your writings always refresh and convey very significant message to live life…amazingly prepared…

    1. 1endofanera says:

      Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

