Yet another bike ride from one year to the other

“One must try to make one’s life as pleasant as possible. I’m alive and it’s not my fault, which means I must somehow go on living the best I can, without bothering anybody, until I die.’
‘But what makes you live? With such thoughts, you’ll sit without moving, without undertaking anything…’
‘Life won’t leave one alone as it is.” – War and Peace

I am in a very interesting phase of life, a stage where one looks forward to a million possibilities on the professional front. I will be completing my MBA with two months and probably will be the end of college life . I will talk about college life later but at this juncture i want to think of what lies ahead for me and us . Read a very interesting article by the editor of Mint on get a life. A friend commented on one of my pics telling that probably the next year would turn out to be mostly working in a company. What I see from here is that most of my friends who graduate now and others who are in job are already married. The transition from group pics with friends to couple pics has already started. In a few years from now there will be a secure job , family , receding hairlines and increasing waistlines for most of us.All the interest in our friends job, affairs, rat race , success will just disappear and will shift towards getting a good house , car , children , health etc. College life was one phase of life when in spite of all the halla bol there was a lot of me time. Probably what will distinguish you and me in the next 10 years from now will be how one handles these years and how much is one closer to doing the me thing more and more.

2013 has been an interesting year for me. I have traveled to  many cities on job and also for leisure and the bike trip to Utrakhand was probably the epitome of all the trips.I would like to list down the places and cities just for personal memories:

1) Mumbai : Tournament at S P Jain ( Will remember tearing my ligament here and also the old monk ride back to Delhi in the cold)

2) Rishikesh : (Will remember it for the tent house stay , the rafting and hitting long sixes in a match with the locals)

3) Intership : Chandigarh, Kolkata, Bhubhneshwar ( Chandigarh was very impressive, a planned and peaceful city, at Kolkata had an awesome time with cheta and rawat, Bhubhneswar was fun with tuktuk and mama)

4) Utrakhand : Bike trip to Badrinath and other places ( Just one thing , ask me about my bike trips and this will top the list)

5) Sikkim : Sikkim was a solo trip , wonderful experience and will be remembered for walking in the rain under an umbrella.

6)Rachi : Was at home for diwali and the run to catch the train will always be remembered.

7) Mcloudeganj bike trip : This was a recent trip which witnessed the transition from 2013 to 2014 .

29082013718

I had always wanted to visit a hill station in peak of winter but had never thought that the trip would happen on a bike. We had rented the bikes from http://www.stoneheadbikes.com/ and I must say that the bike and the service was truly great.One aspect which raised eyes was that we were riding in the cold winter but on a personal level there was one more thing which was very challenging. I have succumbed to a hair line fracture of which i came to know lately and still managed the trip. The best part of Mcloudeganj is the trek to Triund and in winter it includes a stretch of 1 km where you walk on the snow.

I look at 2014 as a year of possibilities and a year to travel.I will be free post February until the joining date arrives. In between i plan to something really really big. I ran over 640 kms last year and i want to drastically improve on that. 2013 will also me a memorable year for all the fans of Arsenal FC as the club ended on the top by year end. I did read few books in 2013 and the most interesting one was Born to run by Christopher Mcdougall.

Whatever the new brings I am sure to take care of a few things. I will be conscious of my health, eat a lot of fruits and veggies, run , read , travel among whatever life brings to me.

Happy New Year dear readers.

Leave a Reply

