Back to writing

Don’t know where to begin from , probably let me start with books and as usual a few lines from a book

“We are, finally, all wanderers in search of knowledge. Most of us hold the dream of becoming something better than we are, something larger, richer, in some way more important to the world and ourselves. Too often, the way taken is the wrong way, with too much emphasis on what we want to have, rather than what we wish to become.” 
― Louis L’Amour, Education of a Wandering Man

As i have always written that every book you read has a story behind it. Have you had that feeling staring at your own collection of books wondering which one to pick next ? Sometimes it is like you run through the whole shelf contemplating on each book and sometimes just at the blink of an  eye you pick up one and say,” enough , this has been lying here for a long time”.Strangely it so happens sometimes that you deliberately leave one book aside knowing that it is good and it should be read at the right time and the right place. One such book was the lines of which I have quoted above. I went for a long long trek to Nepal almost ascending an altitude of 5500 metres. I read two good books during the trek , consider the fact that often by the evening one reached totally drained and wretched but not only were those books apt but also too engaging to read in dim light of the camps. It was so cold and i mastered the art of turning pages with my gloves ( believe me it was difficult ). The other book was Walden and especially the last chapter was intriguing.

Ideally i would be reading something at this moment of time but somehow i finished off the book that i was reading and this rendered more time for writing.Just finished reading, ” The Hungry Tide ” by Amitav Ghosh and at one moment of time probably the 300 page mark point wished that this book should never end.Sadly I think the book reviewing will come to an end , not because of paucity of time but probably the economics concept of opportunity cost. I would like to list down the few books that i have read in the past few months :

1) Walden by Henry David

2) 1984 by George Orwell

3) Education of a wandering man by Louis L armor

4) Crime and punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

5) Desert Solitaire by Edward Abbey

6) The Hungry tide by Amitav Ghosh

Ask me what i feel like currently probably it is like these lines from the fight club , ” I ran. I ran until my muscles burned and my veins pumped battery acid. Then I ran some more. “

Life has again changed for the good , amongst other stuff I do have a job now. It was good without a job though but then ways of the world are ways of the world. Since we are talking of books i picked up Swami Vivekananda on himself. I bought this book when i went to Kanyakumari two years back and since then it has been resting on my shelf and has been changing destinations and shelves.There are many stories i can tell of reading, one is of childhood when i explored all the free libraries in my home town. There was a section in the British Library , actually just a small shelf at the entrance which contained books one could read for free. I spent half of one summer reading books throughout the whole day in the free section. One day the guard probably impressed did me a favour and let me explore the whole treasure for the rest of the summer.

Time to sleep if i have to make up for the morning run.

 

Leave a Reply

