Quotes-Feb

Taken from one of the FB pages which i run on  quotes. A compilation of the quotes from here and there posted in the Month of Feb.

“The supreme happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved.”

“You came to see a race today. To see someone win. It happened to be me. But I want you to do more than just watch a race. I want you to take part in it. I want to compare faith to running in a race. It’s hard. It requires concentration of will, energy of soul. You experience elation when the winner breaks the tape – especially if you’ve got a bet on it. But how long does that last? You go home. Maybe you’re dinner’s burnt. Maybe you haven’t got a job. So who am I to say, “Believe, have faith,” in the face of life’s realities? I would like to give you something more permanent, but I can only point the way. I have no formula for winning the race. Everyone runs in her own way, or his own way. And where does the power come from, to see the race to its end? From within- Chariots of fire ”

“This person, this self, this me, finally, was made somewhere else. Everything had come from somewhere else, and it would all go somewhere else. I was nothing but a pathway for the person known as me.” – Murakami

“What you hold, oh my beloved, is not yours,
What you leave, my beloved, is not yours,
What you have is not yours,
What you do not have is not yours,
Do not chain your feelings,
Do not mould your thoughts,
Do not mortalize your cravings,
For not everything’s an item, to be sold or bought!”

“It had taken six years of blood, blows, pain, sweat, struggle, a thousand rounds in rings and gyms to win that medal, a prize I has dreamed of holding since i was a child. Now I had thrown it in the river and i felt no pain and no regret . Only relief and a new strength.” – Muhhamad Ali

Our happiest moments always seem to come when we stumble upon one thing while in pursuit of something else.

“Just living is not enough, said the butterfly, one must have sunshine, freedom and a little flower. ” – Hans Christian Andersen

If you want to awaken all of humanity, then awaken all of yourself. If you want to eliminate the suffering in the world, then eliminate all that is dark and negative in yourself. Truly, the greatest gift you have to give is that of your own self-transformation.” ― Lao Tzu

It is an illusion that youth is happy, an illusion of those who have lost it.W.somerset maugham

“I want you always to remember me. Will you remember that I existed, and that I stood next to you here like this?”
― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

The final mystery is oneself. When one has weighed the sun in the balance, and measured the steps of the moon, and mapped out the seven heavens star by star, there still remains oneself. Who can calculate the orbit of his own soul?
Oscar Wilde

We all make rules for ourselves. It’s these rules that help define who we are. So when we break those rules, we risk losing ourselves and becoming something unknown.

“Here, we trade achievements, not failures—values, not needs. We’re free of one another, yet we all grow together. Wealth, Dagny? What greater wealth is there than to own your life and to spend it on growing? Every living thing must grow. It can’t stand still. It must grow or perish.” | Atlas Shrugged

The beauty of being human is that each of us are unique and so should be our idea of happiness.

Any preoccupations with the ideas of what is right or wrong in conduct shows an arrested intellectual development

For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again. – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

“I like to see myself as a bridge builder,
that is me building bridges between people,
between races,
between cultures,
between politics,
trying to find common ground.” ~ T.D. Jakes

I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read, and all the friends I want to see.
John Burroughs

“Some people feel like they don’t deserve love. They walk away quietly into empty spaces, trying to close the gaps of the past.” “I NOW WALK INTO THE WILD”
– Jon Krakauer , Into The Wild

” Above all, do not lose your desire to walk. Every day I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness.
I have walked myself into my best thoughts and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it.
But by sitting still, and the more one sits still, the closer one comes to feeling ill.
If one just keeps on walking everything will be all right ”

Life is beautiful in essence, but more often we who pretend civilised are charmed by outer vanities. Blessed are who look beyond.

“As you sit on the hillside, or lie prone under the trees of the forest, or sprawl wet-legged by a mountain stream, the great door, that does not look like a door, opens.”

Let the refining and improving of your own life keep you so busy that you have little time to criticize others.

The opening lines of ,”Faithful Place” by Tana French reads,”My father once told me that the most important thing every man should know is what he should die for.If you don’t know that,he said,what are you worth?Nothing you’re not a man at all

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

