Books Read in 2016- 1

Before I begin this post, you may be interested in the list of books I read in 2015. The list goes here.Β  I had managed to read 35 books last year and how things are looking I may reach the same numbers this year too.

I used to review books and had done for a few publishing house and authors but after a time one must stop working for free, so I stopped. Presented below is first 10 in the list with small snippets on the book Β or anything that the book reminds me of.

As a reader I would love to know

  1. Have you read any of these ?
  2. Any book you would recommend

img-20161104-wa0004

  1. Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac : I am a big fan of On the road by Jack, so I picked this one. Decent read, you may or may not like it.
  2. The Road by Jack London: I think Jack London needs no introduction. This book is considered to be a autobiography of his earlier days. Truly amazing, loved it.
  3. The Great Railway Bazaar by Paul Theroux : Sit on a train and enjoy the ride. If you are a travel enthusiast, this is your book. I think sometime, someday would love to take this route.
  4. Buddha in blue jeans by Tai Sherdian: Pondering on meditation, a short book like this may get you started.
  5. The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman: This books needs no introduction, mus must read on World War and horrors of war
  6. The importance of being Earnest by Oscar Wilde: A funny play by Oscar Wilde, pick it up for a easy, joy read.
  7. Norwegian Wood byMurakami : The book that made me a fan of Murakami. One specialty of this book was that it was so engrossing that even while returning from business trips I managed to read a major part of it on flights.
  8. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol: What a take on Philosophy
  9. Selected Short Stories by Jack London: Amazingly different kind of stories that you will get to read.
  10. Narcissus and Golmumd by Hermann Hesse: Amazing read on two lives, different paths, same goals

23 Comments Add yours

  1. A nice list going on here. You have surely added some to my “To read list”.

    1. Great, that was the purpose

  2. Bernadette says:

    Great list. Very eclectic.

  3. Rupali says:

    Interesting post.

  4. Mel & Suan says:

    We are more magazine readers subscribing to the NatGeo ones (standard issues and the history one). But you sure have an impressive list there!

    1. I would also love to subscribe those if i can afford

  5. Read all of Hesse’s years back plus read the two in your photo; both of which I liked. If you want a list of my 5 out of 5 books go to malleestanley@pinterest.com but before you do, keep in mind I enjoy books not only by Canadian authors, but world authors.

  6. usfman says:

    I would recommend you read Aleph by Paulo Coelho

  7. novelistbaba says:

    i love to read…….but have not read any of these……
    thank you for compiling this great list………now i know where to begin, next…..
    great post!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, would you like to recommend me a few books, it will be great.

      1. novelistbaba says:

        i have been in love with the writing of Paulo Coelho for a while now……so anything he has written is highly recommended. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. Ericajean says:

    What an amazing list! I am thinking of just reading for enjoyment again as well. Reviewing can be fun but I am growing tired of reviewing for free. Great post!

  9. ravish raj says:

    I’d recommend read Paper Towns. *If you like the young adult genre.
    Otherwise, Three Men in a Boat.

    1. Will try Paper Towns

  10. Parul Thakur says:

    I loved Norwegian Wood. Have you read Murakami’s memoir on running? I am sure with you marathons, you will enjoy reading it?

    1. Yes, have read it , it is a great read.

Leave a Reply

