Books read in 2016-2

Click here to read the first of the series.

snow

To continue with the list.

11) Don’t ask any old bloke for directions by P G Tenzing- A funny narration of motorcycle trip across India

12)  The Snow Leopard by Pat Heinessen – Probably the best book of the year, will try another Heinessen book soon.

13) Three Cups of tea by Grey Mortenson- Amazing account of a man building schools in remote Pakistan

14) Civil Disobedience by Henry David Thoreau- Another of Thoreau’s well know work.

15)The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobsen- Winner of the man booker prize in 2010, personally I did not enjoy this book much.

16) Divasvapna by Gijubhai Badhek- A wonderful take on education system

17) The picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde- Widely acclaimed, enjoyed it thoroughly.

18) Annapurna South Face by Chris Bonington- I like books on mountains, enjoyed this one.

19) The Seeker by Karan Bajaj- Though a best seller, I did not enjoy it much

20) A short walk in the Hindukush by Eric Newby- Another mountain book with a tweak, you will never get a funnier mountain book than this.

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Jolene says:

    Totally agree with your view of the Finkler Question (big ado about not much). But I love mountain climbing books and will give that one a try. I assume you’ve read and loved Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air?

    1. Thanks, yes i have read Into thin air

  2. Jenn says:

    Reblogged this on Living Gracefully Imperfect Blog and commented:
    Will definitely get started on this list.

    1. Thanks for re blogging

  3. ranu802 says:

    Hi,nice to know you’ve decided to follow my blog, thank you so much. Among the list of books you read, I’ve only read Picture of Dorian Gray. In all I read more than 30 books in 2016,I entered the reading challenge, 2016,I signed up to read twenty-five but continued, in between I had a few gaps,I’ve started reading again. Recently I read, ‘Roald Dahl’s Matilda, it’s an interesting book which little kids would enjoy. I bought his collection of fifteen, one of them is too childish, but I finished reading it.
    At present I’m reading,l Charles Dickens, ‘A Tale Of Two Cities’ I find this one quite depressing. 🙂

    1. Thank you for dropping by. I will be finishing off this year with 32 books, the final list coming soon. Have read ,’A Tale of two cities’.

      1. ranu802 says:

        What do you think of,’The Tale Of Two Cities?’
        I’m reading it now.

  4. Eugenia says:

    Thank you for the follow and it nice to meet you.

  5. Thanks for the following over at CTB.
    I like the list of books you shared. I had considered reading a few and will now save my time and dollars after your recommendations.

Leave a Reply

