Thoughts on my Birthday

Yesterday I completed another trip around the sun. I celebrated it with a small 100km round trip on the bike. For the past few years this has been the ritual. Being on the bike clears my mind a lot, especially it helps me channelize my thoughts. For me birthdays are a mix of both fun and reflections. It is a day which offers you the prospect of a fresh start to achieve your goals in life and also to assess your on-going life and make necessary changes for the better. So here are some musings:

IMG_20170409_123620_422

  • On love and relationships: The best relationship is when you can lay next to each other and just talk about anything and everything. I am so lucky to have found the love of my life and luckier enough to have married her. These are the good days, every part of it; I wish it remains like this forever.

  • On Health and Fitness: I ran a marathon in January and decided I will run the next one when I am more fit and lean. So started the phase of healthy food and regular exercise. I have already begun the journey and I am enjoying it so far.

  • Meaningful Work: Few years back I quit a well-paid job in search of something more realistic. I wanted to make an impact, become a change master. I started working for a great cause. Imagine a family of 6-7 with an average annual income of 20k vs the prospect of earning 12k per month. I work for an organization which addresses this cause and our target segment is the poorest of the poor of the country. I wish to associate myself in meaningful work in future rather than making rich corporates richer.

  • On meaning of life: It’s a question that mankind has long struggled to answer. We’ve built philosophies and religions around it, gone to war over it, and debated it for centuries. I feel that we need to find a meaning in what we do and it more or less drives you through. As far as the meaning of life goes, it is quiet dynamic. For me I think the current purpose of life is to inspire people.

  • Skills and good practices: I want to focus on a few limited things for this year, primarily do 3 things: 1) A certification in photography 2) few certifications in Microsoft Excel 3) Driving. Apart from this I would like to continue on my journey with meditation, I did around 40 hours of meditation last year.

IMG_20170409_221420_317

  • Travel:  Last but not the least; travel has changed me as a person. I have travelled and would like to continue to travel. After all have stories to tell not stuff to show.

You can read on a similar post written last to last year here.

 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy Belated Birthday. You’re the second person this week who I’ve heard say “I completed another trip around the sun”.

  2. Forty hours of meditation! Yikes, that is a challenge indeed. The last point is life-affirming.

  3. May your wishes come true!

  4. Have a peaceful life ahead. Loved this post a lot.

  5. Happy belated birthday! May your wishes come true.

  6. PoojaG says:

    Happy birthday!! 🎉🎊✨🎂

  7. Happy birthday! Thank you for your interest in my blog and I look forward to following yours.

  8. teny says:

    Belated happy birthday 🙂

  9. Great insights & a clear road map amidst a humane sides of life ..Was talking about the post n the engagements and the resolutions! Great wishes ahead ! Belated happy birthday!

  10. Mel & Suan says:

    Finding your soul mate is indeed a blessing!

  11. ravish kumar says:

    Belated happy birthday

  12. daneelyunus says:

    Belated Happy Birthday

  13. Samanvay says:

    You have hit the bullseye ! Keep going and have a wonderful year ahead .

Leave a Reply

