The Everest Base Camp Trek

IMG_20170608_162243_736

Everest Base Camp Trek

” someday is actually a synonym for never ”

I write this seated on the third flight of the day as I head back home. I am eagerly looking forward to home food and water and at room temperature. The morning flight from Lukla is considered among one of the most dangerous flight routes. As I sat in the flight I was aware of the fact that just 10 days back one flight had crashed on this route. I sat, closed my eyes and contemplated on the beauty of the airport. At an altitude of 2840m , a short patch of inclined concrete as runway this was one of the most beautiful airports I had ever been to.

People go to the mountains for clean air , to be healed , I think it is the view that heals. Imagine a real hard climb at the end of the day when you are wishing for it to get over and then the clouds come and meet you on the trail. These small things of beauty just keep you moving.

The numerous hanging bridges that one crosses on the trail are strewn with prayer flags which make their colorful fluttering noise. You reach the middle of the bridge, hold the wire and look down the flowing water hundreds of metres below. The bridge vibrates, the cool air blows at your face and you move on. The monastries, the villages , the cafes , the kids , the yaks, the food , the tourists everything made it a more colorful trip .

5535m , Kalapathar top , 7 am , I was at the highest point in the trail all alone. I had a dog for company and no human around for 20 minutes. I had come here to takeaway an image of the mountain in my mind, the mountain the summit of which can deliver you from the pain of ambition.

I had my adventures and misadventures but I made it. One particular misadventure is worth mentioning when I trekked for 35 kms in a day. Life in mountains is amazingly beautiful and exceedingly difficult. I return back with the idea of being there yet again, somewhere higher than this time.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Omg what a wonderful trip you had!!

    1. Yes, it was fascinating

  2. travelerinme says:

    Wow! An adventure for sure……. Best wishes for making it higher in your next one 👍

Leave a Reply

